Flowers just because…

For my friend’s daughter’s 1st birthday party, I decided to stick to the party theme of flowers.  What better way to celebrate a birthday by giving the celebrant a flower bouquet…or two.

I decided to do 2 types of flower bouquets since I made 2 types of cakes.

For the first bouquet (carrot cake with cream cheese frosting), I made two 6×2 circle cakes, one dome (1/2 of a ball pan) cake, and a dozen cupcakes. I stacked the 6×2 circles and dome to make the “flower pot”.  I took wrapping paper and wrapped around the “flower pot”, securing the wrapping paper with a ribbon.

To make the flowers, I decorated the cupcakes with cut marshmallows dipped in colored sugar.  Cut the mini-marshmallows from one corner to the other and then dip the sticky center into colored sugar.  I used bright green, pink, purple, and orange colored sugar for my flowers.  I used about 3/4 of a 10.5 oz. mini-marshmallow bag.  Frost the tops of the cupcakes and then start arranging the colored marshmallows on the edge of the cupcake and work your way in.  Use the bigger sized marshmallows on the outside and use the smaller ones in the middle/center.

To secure the cupcake flowers onto the flower pots, I used bamboo skewers and toothpicks.  I was surprised at how pretty they looked!

For the second bouquet (chocolate cake), I did the same thing to make the flower pot and used a different wrapping paper design.  For the cupcakes, I tinted the cream cheese frosting pink, purple, green, and yellow.  I piped the petals one color and then used another color for the center.  These also turned out really well because the bright colors worked well with the chocolate background.  These were a little bit harder to handle, when securing onto the flower pot.

Here are both bouquets side by side.

2 Comments »

  1. not2crumby Said:

    Looks Beautiful! A great idea for a bridal shower.:)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

