Hot diggity dawg!

I can’t believe my last post was back in July.  I’ve made cakes since then…just haven’t had time to post…

So, here is a giant hot dog cake I made for a picnic.  I made 2 pound cakes, 1 for the hot dog and another for the fries.

I made the hot dog by baking the pound cake in a loaf pan.  I first cut out the hot dog by cutting the loaf length-wise and top down, about 3/4″-1″ from the edges.  I stopped the cut about 1″ from the bottom of the cake.  I then took a bread knife and cut through the cake to create a rectangle.  I removed the rectangle from the rest of the cake and trimmed it down to look like a hot dog.  I then trimmed the rest of the cake to look like a hot dog bun by rounding out the corners.

Because the pound cake is very rich and dense, I decided to use whipped cream for frosting.  I thought a buttercream or cream cheese frosting would be just too much, so opted for a lighter frosting, which worked well.

Set aside a small amount of frosting for the mustard.  For the remaining frosting, tint 1/2 with a light brown color and the other 1/2 with an orange/red frosting.  I frosted the bun and hot dog separately.  To create the grill marks on the hot dog, I gently imprinted a round chop stick tinted with black gel food coloring on the hot dog at a diagonal.  After decorating both the bun and hot dog, carefully lift the hot dog on the underside, using the long bread knife. Gently place the hot dog inside the bun and re-frost areas where frosting colors may have been mixed during the process.

Pipe the “mustard” on top of the hot dog.  I tried creating ketchup with the whip cream frosting, but that didn’t work out too well as it was difficult to get the deep red color.  Instead, I tinted corn syrup with red food coloring and drizzled that over the hot dog and fries.

For the fries, I cut the other pound cake into strips and lightly toasted them in the oven to give them a more golden/brown color.

Leave a Reply

