R2-D2 to the rescue

My son asked for an R2-D2 cake for his 7th birthday party with his classmates.  Being a fan of Star Wars, I didn’t have to think twice.  I knew I would make this cake at some point…even if it had to be for my birthday party.  Luckily, it was for my son’s. Also, he and his sister dressed up as Luke Skywalker and Princess Leia for Halloween, so it was fitting to continue the drama.

As usual, he requested his favorite carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. To make R2, I baked four 6×3 cake circles and stacked them. For his head, I used 1/2 of a ball pan. I placed the unfrosted cakes on a 6″ circle cake board that was wrapped in silver cake foil. I placed a block underneath R2 to levitate him slightly off of a bigger cake board (see picture).

For his legs, I made rice krispies treats and shaped them by hand. While shaping the rice krispies treats, I had R2 nearby so I could make sure the dimensions were appropriate for his body size.

I frosted R2 and his legs with white cream cheese frosting and added details using royal blue frosting.

Here he is below, standing guard at a whopping 1.5-2ft. My son had a lot of fun waving his hand at people saying, “this is not the droid you’re looking for”.  🙂

3 Comments »

  1. megan Said:

    This is *STUNNING*!!! I can’t let my son see this: Last year, I was able to get away with a plain white “Planet Hoth” cake…which is completely lame in comparison, or in general, unless you’re 5. 🙂 I’m sure your son was thrilled — great job!! (His “this is not the droid…” bit is hilarious.)

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Megan,

      Thanks so much for the encouraging comments!

      Frazi

  2. Rathika Marsh Said:

    Hi, this looks so awesome! Just wondered how you got the arms to attach to the cake?

    Thank you
    Rathika


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

