Sail away

My son wanted a sailboat themed party for our annual summer birthday party.  I totally went overboard…especially after having started a new job.

I over-planned and as a result, didn’t have a eye-popping sailboat to unveil (and had to pull an over-nighter).  On the bright side, the kids had a wonderful time making and decorating sailboats out of orange juice boxes and multi-colored electrical tape.  As a bonus, they got to race their sailboats in a small creek by our picnic area.  They also enjoyed throwing the anchor (see could toss it farthest) and raising the sails (who could raise the sail the fastest) as part of the party activities.

My sailboat was pretty plain, decorated in blue and yellow per the birthday boy’s request.  The sail also took some effort and was made with a white trash bag decorated with electrical tape.  As you can tell, I spent more time on the sail than on decorating the cake…

Apart from the sailboat cake, I also made sugar cookie sailboats, trophies, and lighthouses which I used as prizes for the different activities.

I asked my sister-in-law to help me make jello sailboat cups made from canned peaches.  And my brother carved a watermelon boat for the fruits.

Leave a Reply

