Leaf the ladybugs alone

For my cousin’s daughter’s 1st birthday party, I decided to make 2 ladybugs lounging on a big leaf.  For the ladybug bodies, I used a ball pan and shaped the head from the “bump” of the cake, rising from baking, in the ball pan.  For the giant leaf, I used two 9×13 pans…I had very little cake scraps left!  I made lemon cakes with raspberry curd filling and whipped cream frosting for the ladybugs and leaf.  I piped melted chocolate to create the antennas (which you don’t see here as I added them when we got to the party and this is a pix before).

Ladybug Cake

2 Comments »

  1. Brittney Said:

    How did you get the whipped cream frosting so red and did it taste good? The frosting that is.

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Brittney,

      I used Wilton’s Christmas Red (no taste) coloring gel. It actually says “no taste” on the label. I don’t remember how much of it I used, but it is in proportion to how much icing you want to color. To color the lady bugs I probably only used 1/2-1cup of frosting total, so I don’t think I used that much gel coloring.

      Do not use the watery food coloring you get at the grocery store. I don’t think it blends well with the whipped cream and I think you would have to use a lot to make it red because it is watered down.

      The frosting itself tasted fine. Probably because I used the “no taste” gel color and because I only tinted a little bit of icing for the lady bugs. Both kids and adults loved it, or so they said!

      Hope that helps,
      Frazi


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

