Chillin’ in the crib

For a co-worker’s baby shower, I decided to make a crib cake.  The cake itself is pretty easy since I used 9×13 baking pans, but what was hard, was piping melted dark chocolate to create the crib posts.  I had to make the posts pretty thick so that it wouldn’t break easily with handling and while standing up.  Since I had a hard time trying to make the posts smooth and straight (my hands aren’t steady enough to draw nice straight lines quickly) I decided to intentionally wiggle my wrist while piping the chocolate.  If you notice, the crib posts look like it’s rattan.  If you notice, most, if not all, cribs are not made out of rattan.  Oh well, it gave it a more interesting texture.

I decided to decorate in pinks, browns, and heart shapes since the baby was due close to Valentines day.

crib-cake-angle

crib-cake-side-11 crib-cake-top1

2 Comments »

  1. Debbie Phillips Said:

    Can you please, either send me directions or post directions for this…I have a baby shower coming uo soon and I would love to make this for my friend!!

  2. frazi Said:

    Hi Debbie,

    Not a problem! I hope you get this in time!

    I baked two 9×13 cakes and cut them to flat sides since most cake pans flare out at the top (to make them stackable for storage). I then frosted in between the two 9×13 cakes and stacked them on top of each other.

    For the crib posts, measure the length of the stacked cakes now that you have cute the edges off. On a 11×14 sheet of paper, draw two bars horizontally and about 4-5in. apart (this will depend on how high your stacked cakes are). You can roughly guess based on the pictures I uploaded and from your actual cake height. The length of these two bars will be 1/2in. longer than the measured length of your stacked cake. Draw perpendicular lines between the two horizontal bars, spaced about 1/2-1in. intervals (see my cake pix for example). On the ends of the horizontal bars, draw the ends of the posts, ending with a little curl on top. Melt dark or white chocolate per instructions on the bag (I microwaved it and got the chocolate from Michaels). Put wax paper on top of your drawing of the crib posts on the 11×14 paper and trace the drawing with the chocolate (pipe it from a bag). You may need to do this a couple of times afte the chocolate has cooled and solidified. This is to make the chocolate crib posts more sturdy so it won’t break when you are trying to assemble. Do the same for the shorter ends of the cake, i.e., on 8×11 paper draw 2 horizontal bars as before (same distance between bars as before), but the length of the shorter sides of the cake. Make it slightly shorter by 1/4in. so that it will fit in between the longer side crib posts. Put wax paper on top and pipe chocolate as before. You will need to do each drawing twice to form all sides of the crib.

    Once the chocolate crib posts are solid and completed, frost the cake in your desired color. Decorate the cake as you wish with polka dots and the like. Attach the crib posts to the sides of the cake, long sides first, followed by short sides.

    I would attach my drawings of the crib posts, but am in China right now for work, so do not have access to my drawings!

    Hope this helps! Please send a link to your finished crib cake! I would love to see it!

    Frazi


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

