Ice Cream Cone Cake

To celebrate the coming of summer, I decided to do something wild and crazy for my nephew’s 3rd birthday party – I scream “cone dupli-cake”! The thing that makes this wild and crazy is the real scoop of ice cream on top of the cake cone. It’s not one of the hardest I’ve done, but it looks pretty cool.

I decided to broaden my cake repertoire, so tried making lemon blueberry and lemon poppy seed cakes. It turned out pretty well and will become one of my staples! I made a lemon blackberry sauce to complement the vanilla ice cream and a cream cheese frosting for the cakes.

For the cone cake itself, I ended up using three 6×3 round cakes (I had made 4 just in case). For the top cone, I used two 8×2 round cakes. I stacked the cakes to form the cone and used a wooden dowel to stabilize it.

For the ice cream scoop on top, I lined a mixing bowl with plastic wrap and spread softened vanilla ice cream inside. I froze the ice cream in the mixing bowl until it was ready to use. When the birthday boy was ready for his cake, I took the ice cream out and placed it on top of the cake. For serving ease, I put the ice cream back into the bowl and just scooped it out when serving with the cake. I drizzled the lemon blackberry sauce on the vanilla ice cream for pizzaz.

6 Comments »

  1. Donna Lane Said:

    OMG, OMG, OMG That is one awesome cake you made, I love It!!! You are an amazing cake decorator, and this cake really showcases that, you should really be proud of this one. If you don’t mind I would love to recreate your design sometime and make one of these. It’s fantastic. And then to top it off with real ice-cream WOW!!!!!

    Donna

  2. Frazi Said:

    Hi Donna,

    Thanks so much for the compliments! It’s wild and crazy isn’t it? If you’d like to re-create it, please credit and link to my blog on your website or post! I’d love to see your re-creation so please send a link!

    One thing to note is that the ice cream will melt quickly on a hot day, so you may want to wait to take out the ice cream of the freezer just until the birthday celebrant is ready to blow out the candles. I also used extra frosting to line the bottom of the ice cream scoop. Gotta work quickly with this one!

    Thanks!
    Frazi

  3. Natasha Said:

    I love that you have a blog now. It’s about time you started sharing your amazing creations with the world! You are incredibly creative, I’ve always been awed by your beautiful cakes and cookies. And FYI, so glad you added lemon cake to your repertoire since it is my favorite flavor!

    Natasha.

  4. frazi Said:

    Thanks Natasha! I like lemon, too!

  5. Jody Said:

    Okay so I am a NOVICE at cake making, but not so much a novice in the kitchen. I am considering tackling this cake. I need some more details…how did you get it so it would topple over!!?!?! got any pics of the work in progress?!?!

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Jody,

      So sorry for the delay as I’ve started a new job and haven’t had much time for my hobbies of late…

      Sorry, but I don’t have any pics in progress. 😦 I’ve made this only once and it was a while back… Let me try to remember.

      I re-read my blog and remembered what I did. The 6×3 cakes are pretty wide so these shouldn’t topple over if you stack them. The key is getting a dowel long enough to stabilize the stack of 8×2 cakes on top of the 6×3 cakes. You will need to make a dense cake to make this cone cake. I would recommend using pound cake or something like that. If the cake is very moist, it will fall apart, even with the dowel to stabilize it.

      Sharpen one end of a dowel (1/4″ to 1/2″ diameter) so it looks like a pencil. After you stack the cakes to make the cone shape, insert the sharpened side down and hammer into the cardboard base where the cakes are sitting on. I would recommend doubling or tripling up the cardboard base so the dowel can pierce through to better stabilize the cake.

      Before doing this, you should estimate the length you will need so it doesn’t poke out of the ice cream top. When I did mine, about 1/2″ to 1″ was protruding atop the cake and I was able to cover it with the ice cream “scoop” on top. This also helps to stabilize the ice cream and keep it from falling off the cone.

      The hardest part about this cake is cutting it! 🙂

      Good luck and let me know how it goes. Please send a pix if you can!

      Frazi


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

