Hush little baby…

My next cake was for a friend’s baby shower (I think it was also in Jan.). Can you believe she and I had the exact due date of March 8, 2007 ? I delivered a week before and she delivered a week after the due date and we both had girls.

I decided to make a bassinet so I could once again practice my basket weave. This time, I went ahead and used 2 different colors as I had originally wanted to try when I had made the baby carriage cake. Using 2 colors actually turned out well because it gave it more contrast. For the cake, I made a lemon cake with lemon-raspberry curd filling…mmmm real good! I made the bassinet cover using royal icing and an egg pan. Creating it was a royal pain! The first time I tried, I broke it! I used vegetable shortening to grease the egg pan and then put the basket weave directly on it. I had such a tough time prying the dried basket weaved cover off of the egg pan that it broke. I think my basketweave was too thin and hence fragile. The next time I tried it, I covered the egg pan with saran wrap and coated the saran wrap with shortening. I was able to lift the basket weave cover off of the egg pan using the saran wrap. This method, however, yielded a wrinkly texture inside of the basket weave cover. Fortunately, most of the attention was on the outside, so the inside was pretty much unnoticed to the untrained eye.

Bassinet

2 Comments »

  1. marissa Jones Said:

    thats a beautiful cake I was wondering how it would look in a different color

  2. frazi Said:

    Thank you! If I get the opportunity to make another baby shower cake, I’ll probably try the following color combinations for the basket weaving: chocolate/pink, chocolate/blue, chocolate/aqua, chocolate/lavender, and possibly white, pink, lavender, mint for the different weaves.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

