Eat your vegetables…and cake, too!

My next cake was for my son’s 3rd birthday party (in Jan., of course) and the theme was gardening.

I didn’t have time to make hand-made invitations so I just emailed out evites! I gave out gardening tool sets to the kids and ironed-on their names on canvas aprons I had bought. I also bought clay pots which I painted in solid colors for the kids to decorate. It turned out great because it didn’t rain (great CA weather! I’m so spoiled!) and the kids got to plant fava beans (and other herbs) in pots they had decorated themselves (I put out paints, brushes, stamps and pens). My husband also collected snails the night before so the kids got to pick a snail and race them on a board with a painted finish line!

For the garden cake, I made the vegetables (carrots, chard, eggplant, yellow squash and tomatoes) two nights before using royal icing. The night before, I made the cake and the cookies to make the label stakes and the picket fence around the cake. I crushed chocolate teddy grahams to make the dirt. Most of the guests thought the eggplants were turnips. What can I say? I tried…

Check out more of my cookies here: 

Garden

4 Comments »

  1. Molly Said:

    Do you share your recipes? My daughter and her friends want to make your vegetable garden cake for their school cooking project.

  2. I found lots of intresting things here. Thanks!

  3. Addy Said:

    Hi! Your cake is just so CUTE! ^-^


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

