Enchanted garden

My next cake was for a friend’s daughter’s 1st birthday party. The theme was Garden Fairy, so I decorated a sheet cake with flowers, mushrooms, rocks, etc. I made the flowers, leaves and lily pads ahead of time using royal icing. I made the mushrooms the day of by baking meringue and then dusting with cocoa powder. I couldn’t believe how realistic they turned out! I baked a cupcake and 1/2 of a ball pan to make a larger mushroom which I then decorated with more flowers.

Garden Fairy

4 Comments »

  1. Jennifer Said:

    What are the grasses made from? This is one of the most adorable cakes I have seen. I’m trying to do my daughters cake for tomarrow. We always make the “unveiling” of the cake a BIG surprise. I am the youngest of 4. My baking abilities have been a topic of comic relief for my family until a few years ago. I have started to pour it on during the holidays. My sister is making a cake for her daughter and my mother is making one for my other niece. We have already done a “pie off.” I really want to knock the socks off. Any suggestions?

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Jennifer,

      I think my reply may be too late… 😦 Sorry! I just started a new job, so have had no time for my beloved hobby…

      I think the grasses you are referring to are the green “leaves” sticking out of the cake. I made it using royal icing tinted with leaf green food coloring. I used a leaf tip (can’t remember which) and just piped it on waxed paper. I placed the wax paper on a roll of paper towel as the leaves were drying. This gave the leaves a “rounded” look.

      Hope it all went well and let me know if you need anything else. Please send a pix of your cake! Would love to see it!

      Frazi

  2. Naz Said:

    I love your cake…and am planning to make it for my daughter’s birthday. Can I bake the meringe a day before the party? Also, If I decorate the cake with the meringue with the mushrooms the day before the party will they stay OK? What recipe did you use for the meringue, and how did you make the flowers and rocks?
    Regards,
    Naz

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Naz,

      My apologies for the delay in getting back to you. I just logged into my blog after a year of being away from it. I hope I’m able to answer your questions in time for your daughter’s birthday party and if not, I hope you were able to find the answers you were looking for. Thanks very much for visiting my site and sharing your wonderful comments. Please find the answers to your questions below:

      1. I think you can make these a day ahead if you live in a dry area and have a air-tight container for the meringue mushrooms. If you are in a place where it is humid, you may have problems making it the day before as it will not be as “crispy” but more gummy. The meringue itself should be good to eat one day later, but may not taste as nice compared to when baked fresh.

      2. Here is the meringue recipe I used:

      1 cup sugar
      4 large egg whites
      1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
      1 tablespoon cocoa powder, plus more for dusting
      3 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate

      1. Preheat the oven to 225 degrees F (110 degrees C). Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
      2. In a large glass or metal bowl, use an electric mixer to whip egg whites until foamy. Add vanilla. Continue whipping until the whites hold soft peaks. Gradually sprinkle in the sugar so that it does not sink to the bottom, and continue whipping until the mixture holds stiff shiny peaks.
      3. Place a round tip into a pastry bag, and fill the bag half way with the meringue. To pipe the mushroom caps, squeeze out round mounds of meringue onto one of the prepared cookie sheets. Pull the bag off to the side to avoid making peaks on the top. For the stems, press out a tiny bit of meringue onto the other sheet, then pull the bag straight up. They should resemble candy kisses. Do not worry about making all of the pieces exactly the same. The mushrooms will look more natural if the pieces are different sizes. Dust the mushroom caps lightly with cocoa using a small sifter or strainer.
      4. Bake for 1 hour in the preheated oven, or until the caps are dry enough to easily remove from the cookie sheets. Set aside to cool completely.
      5. Melt the coating chocolate in a metal bowl over simmering water, or in a glass bowl in the microwave, stirring occasionally until smooth.
      6. Poke a small hole in the bottom of a mushroom cap. Spread chocolate over the bottom of the cap. Dip the tip of a stem in chocolate, and press lightly into the hole. When the chocolate sets, they will hold together. Repeat with remaining pieces. Store at room temperature in an air tight container in a cool, dry place.

      3. For the flowers, I made royal icing and then piped the flowers using the different piping tips and a #1 circular tip for the stems. I used a leaf tip to make the long leaves of the flowers. You can go online and for videos and instructions on how to make different types of flowers.

      4. For the rocks, you can buy candy rocks online or you can go to Cost Plus. Sometimes in their candy section you will find a small tube that has chocolate rock candies.

      Hope this helps!
      Frazi


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

