Block Party

My next creation was for my cousin’s baby shower. I decided to make 3 different cakes (carrot, banana-pineapple, lemon w/ raspberry curd) instead of 4. I over-committed, as usual, and didn’t have time to make the fourth cake, which was to be chocolate. I bought 3 6x2in. pans and never baked in them before, so I was at a loss as to how much batter I should make to fill the pans and ultimately create a 6×6 cake block. As you can imagine, baking the cakes the night before was poor planning on my part and resulted in excess cake batter, baked cake pieces, and extra time in doing second batches if the first batch was not enough to make a 6×6 block. The cakes rose in the center significantly, so trimming the excess to form a flat block really took some time. Also, I didn’t know how much frosting was needed to cover all cakes completely with excess for coloring/decorations. I’m so grateful for my late mother-in-law’s kitchen aid heavy duty mixer wedding gift!

This was also my first time using a piping bag with couplers and a decorating tip! I iced the cake in plain white cream cheese frosting and left the final touches after I arrived at the party location.

Transporting the cakes were also nerve-wracking. I had cut the cakeboard close to the size of the cake itself, so if the board slipped on a surface, it didn’t give the cake itself much room from being mangled. Luckily, the cakes did not tip nor touch anything during transport!

I was so wiped out by the time the cakes were finished, I didn’t get to stack them on top of each other as I had orginally planned. I was not sure how I would support the cake blocks and didn’t want them to topple over or ruin the cakes beneath them. Hence, I just kept them on the table.

ABC Blocks

2 Comments »

  1. kilsiana Said:

    these cakes are beautifull

  2. frazi Said:

    Thank you!! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

