Cool summer snowflake cookies

It felt like Christmas perusing the cookie cutters at different shops! So I decided to take some home for my stocking this year, not to mention the chocolate rolled cookie recipe I came across to boot! Because I couldn’t wait until the end of year to make snowflake cookies, I decided they would be a cool welcome for this hot summer.

I forget how many actual snowflake cookies I made, but it was quite a bit. I really liked the dark cookie contrast to the light icing I got last time I decorated the snowflake cookies, so I decided to try it again. Here are a sampling of the finished products. Which do you like the best?

And here they are packaged ever so nicely…

20 Comments »

  1. Jackie Gavin Said:

    I am looking to buy a cookie cutter that has cut outs in the middle like your cookies above. Do you sell just the cookie cutter or can you tell me where I can buy one. Thanks so much
    Jackie Gavin

  2. frazi Said:

    Hi Jackie,

    Are you just looking for the inside cut out shapes for a snowflake cookie cutter? I think you can just use the miniature shape cutters (diamonds, teardrop, circle, triangle, etc.). If you are looking for both the cookie cutter and the cut outs, I got mine from various stores. I can’t recall exactly which ones, but I think I got a set from Sur La Table. You may want to see if they still carry them. Good luck!

    Frazi

  3. Lisa Said:

    these cookies are amazing and elegant. you just want to stare at them and not eat them at all. I have not try to make cookies from scratch before, all I did was get the store brought dough to make them. Do you have the recipe, include the size of the icing nozzle to use, for these cookies? I would be veryinterestd to learn about how to make them.

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Lisa,

      Thank you very much for your kind praises! :)

      Here is the sugar cookie recipe I use (from my late mother-in-law’s mother):

      2 3/4 cups flour
      2 tsp baking powder
      1/2 tsp salt
      1/2 cup butter or shortening
      1 cup sugar
      2 eggs, well beaten
      1 tsp vanilla

      Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add aggs and beat well. Add vanilla. In another bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to creamed mixture and chill for at least 15min. Roll on slightly floured board to 1/8″ thickness and cut into shapes. Bake at 400C for 7-10 minutes.

      Some notes: Using butter will tend to spread the cut outs a bit more than shortening, but it makes for a tastier cookie. This can make roughly 2 dozen medium sized cookies.

      For the royal icing decorating, I use a tip 2 for the finer details and a tip 3 for borders. You would outline the border of the cookie w/ icing and then “flood” or fill in the center with a thinned version of royal icing (add a couple of drops of water so it flows more easily to fill your outline). Wait for the icing to dry and then decorate with more royal icing (not thinned version). Hope this helps! If not, the Martha Stewart website is a good source!

      Have fun decorating!

      Frazi

  4. Lisa Said:

    How do you make royal icing? I do not have a electric mixer, is it better to buy it at a store or make it by hand? If you would recommend buying at store, which one do you recommend?

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Lisa,

      I make royal icing by using the Wilton recipe or the Martha Stewart recipe. If you plan on baking and decorating a lot in the future, I think an electric mixer would be a good investment. I got a stand mixer as a wedding gift from my late mother-in-law. I kept it in the box for ~3years before I broke it in. Until then I did everything by hand…not even an electric mixer. I realized I enjoyed baking and decorating more when I could focus on the creativity aspect and not the manufacturing aspect.

      http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Royal-Icing
      http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/recipe/perfect-royal-icing?lnc=4db27a48efa1d110VgnVCM1000003d370a0aRCRD&rsc=recipecontent_planning

      I’ve tried the store bought royal icings (cakemate) available at any grocery store and the flavor is quite different from handmade royal icing (which is pretty much all sugar). The cakemate icings I used were also too watery, hence you couldn’t really make detailed decorations as it would just run. I think if you make it by hand you have more control over the icing consistency, though I’ve never made royal icing without electronic means.

      Maybe you can bake and decorate w/ a friend that has a mixer and see if you enjoy it enough to want to purchase one.

      Hope this helps!
      Frazi

  5. Cindy Said:

    Your snowflakes are very beautiful! (and, inspiring!) I’ve looked at a lot of cookie photographs, and yours really stand out!

  6. frazi Said:

    Hi Cindy, thanks very much for your kind words! I’m glad you like them!

  7. Lorri Said:

    I am looking for snowflake cookies to buy for a formal, winter-themed party on March 24. Yours are the most beautiful I’ve seen. Would you consider making them to sell? My colors are ice-blue, silver and white. The blue/white ones would be SO perfect!!

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Lorri,

      I would love to do it, however, I’m currently traveling on business and will not be back in my kitchen until the night of March 24. :( I’m so sorry! Please consider me for future events!

      Frazi

  8. Lorri Said:

    PS – I only need one dozen!!

  9. wendy McDaniel Said:

    Hi your aquarium cake is absolutely fabulous, I have looked at dozens and yours is the best by far, I am wanting to make one for my son can you share with me HOW you made it stand up?

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Wendy,

      Thanks very much for your generous comments. :)

      For the version I made, it was quite large at 1ft. tall, 18in. in length, and 3in. in width. To make a sturdy foundation for the cake, it will take some work… And this fed >100people, so I’m not sure if want to make that much cake. If you do, let me know and I can send more detailed instructions.

      For an easier and smaller version, you can make a fishbowl, by using two 9″ or 8″ circular pans, stacking them, cutting 2″ from one side and from the opposite side, and standing up on side. The frosting should hold the 2 cakes in place.

      For an easier and smaller version of my cake, you can use two 9×13 cake pans, stack them, and then turn to stand up on the long side. For extra support, use a thick cardboard base wrapped in a cake foil and then use thick bamboo skewers to pierce the cake (standing up) down to the thick cardboard. You will need to use a hammer to make sure the skewer punctures the thick cardboard so it will help to steady the cake. I would use 4 skewers, two for each 9×13 cake and probably 1/3 of the way from the ends. After hammering and the skewers are too long and sticking up out of the cake, use a big wire cutter/pliers to cut the excess on the top.

      Hope this helps! Please send me a pix or a link to you final creation! I’d love to see it!

      Good luck,
      Frazi

  10. Judy Park Said:

    Hi! Is there a specific sugar cookie recipe or ingredient used to make snowflakes that hold their shape? I spend so much time carefully cutting out the inside shapes of the cookies. Then, when I bake them, they close up. Your cookies are absolutely beautiful and… inspirational. Lee

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Lee (Judy?),

      Thanks very much for the flattering comments!

      I think I use a normal sugar cookie recipe. It is similar to Martha Stewart’s. Maybe you are using too much butter in your recipe? Or another possibility is that you need to flatten your dough more. I usually flatten to about 1/8 in. thickness. If too thick, it will rise too much and can cover the holes as you mentioned.

      2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
      2 cups sugar
      2 large eggs
      2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract
      2 teaspoons salt
      5 cups all-purpose flour

      Directions
      In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugar on high speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add eggs, vanilla, and salt; mix on medium speed until combined. With mixer on low speed, add flour in 2 batches, mixing just until incorporated.
      Divide dough into 4 equal portions. Place each on a piece of plastic wrap; flatten into disks. Wrap in plastic wrap; refrigerate until firm, at least 2 hours or up to 1 week.

      If the recipe above does not work, I think you can also try a shortbread recipe that doesn’t use any eggs.

      Hope this helps and let me know how your cookies turn out. Would love to see a pix!

      Frazi

  11. Adriann Said:

    Would you consider making about 2 dozen of these for my daughter’s bday party? It is the last weekend in January 2011.

    • frazi Said:

      Hi Adriann,

      So sorry, I’ve fallen so behind of my blog with work, kids activities, etc. I just saw your blog now, so I’m 3 months late.

      I hope your daughter had a wonderful birthday party.

      Frazi

  12. Lulu Said:

    Absolutely fantastic cookies! I am envious of your considerable skills!

    • frazi Said:

      :) Thanks Lulu! I get a lot of ideas and advice from other people to help me out!

      - Frazi

  13. [...] xmas wrapping paper. Picture from For the love of blog therapy] [Perfect for gifts! Picture from Frazicake] This entry was posted in Design, Five Favorites, Holidays, Washington D.C.. Bookmark the [...]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

